Staying Safe Online

The internet is an ideal way to search for information and support anonymously, but unfortunately it is possible for others to track what you've been viewing online.

Read the guidance below if you are worried about someone discovering that you’ve been on this website, and find out what you can do to cover your tracks.

The safest way to access this site if you want to be completely sure of not being tracked online, is to use a computer at a local library, an internet cafe, a friend's house, or at work. 

While you are online
If you’re worried someone might come into the room and you don’t want them to see what you’re looking at, you could open another browser window or document and keep it open behind the site you’re looking at. This way if you need to close a window quickly, you’re not left looking at a blank screen.

Deleting cookies and address histories
Be aware that removing data from your computer might be noticed by the person you want to cover your tracks from. If you share your computer with others, then clearing your cookies means information saved, such as passwords for online banking, will disappear. Because their passwords will no longer be saved, those you share your computer with may realise that you've removed data. Also, they may notice if the address history on the PC has been cleared, and this may arouse suspicion.

How to clear internet history after visiting our website
When you browse the internet, information about the sites you visit is stored in the internet browser you use on your computer. To minimise the chances of someone finding out that you’ve visited this website, follow the instructions below to clear your internet history.

However, be aware that it may still be possible for someone to work out which sites you’ve visited by other means. The safest way to access this site if you want to be completely sure of not being tracked online, is to use a computer at a local library, an internet cafe, a friend's house or at work.

You can clear your internet history by following the steps in the links below. If you know the browser you are using, go straight to the relevant instructions.

If you are on a PC but are unsure which browser you are using, click on help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen (or window). A dropdown menu will appear and the last entry will include the name of the browser. For example, if it says “About Internet Explorer”, this means you’re using Internet Explorer.

On a Mac, the name of the browser appears in the menu bar, just to the right of the Apple logo.

Find instructions for different browsers:
Internet Explorer
Mozilla Firefox
Google Chrome
Opera

Private Browsing (name varies for different browsers)
This tool prevents websites from saving any data about you which may leave a trail, such as cookies, history or other browser data created or saved in that session. Your history for that session will also be deleted when you close the window.

Not to be confused with Private Filtering, which has another function and will not stop your abuser from seeing your trail! 

Generally Private Browsing can be activated in the Tools bar. This will open a new window. Remember only to use this window for your browsing session, and make sure you close it! Leaving this window open may alert somebody that you are concerned about having your online movements tracked. Read more about In-Private Browsing in Internet Explorer.

However, even though it helps, this mode is not entirely safe, and there are some programmes that can recover deleted files, or a determined person could still find traces of your visit if they read enough "tips" online. 

Again, the only safe way is to use a computer your abuser does not have access to.