Skip to main content

Concerned about an adult?    Social Care Direct 0345 6037630   

Types of Abuse


Physical Abuse

May include hitting, slapping, pushing, kicking, misuse of medication, misuse of restraint, or inappropriate sanctions.

Domestic Abuse

May include psychological, physical, sexual, financial, emotional abuse; so-called “honour” based abuse and forced marriage.

Sexual Abuse

May include rape and sexual assault, or sexual acts to which the adult has not consented, or could not consent, or where pressure was applied to secure their consent.

Psychological Abuse

May include verbal abuse, emotional abuse, threats, deprivation of contact, humiliation, blaming, controlling, intimidation, coercion, harassment, isolation or withdrawal from services or supportive networks.

Financial Abuse

May include theft, fraud, exploitation, pressure in connection with wills, property of inheritance or financial transactions, or the misuse or misappropriation of property, possessions or benefits.

Modern Slavery

May include human trafficking, forced labour and domestic servitude.

Discriminatory Abuse

May include racist or sexist remarks or comments based on a person's impairment, disability, age or illness, and other forms of harassment, slurs or similar treatment.

Organisational Abuse

Involves the collective failure of an organisation to provide an appropriate and professional service to adults with care and support needs. It can be seen or detected in processes, attitudes and behaviour that amount to discrimination through unwitting prejudice, ignorance, thoughtlessness and stereotyping. It includes a failure to ensure the necessary safeguards are in place to protect adults and maintain good standards of care in accordance with individual needs, including training of staff, supervision and management, record keeping and liaising with other providers of care.


May include acts of omission, ignoring medical or physical care needs, failure to provide access to appropriate health, social care or educational services, the withholding of the necessities of life, such as medication, food and drink and heating.


May include behaviours neglecting to care for one’s personal hygiene, health or surrounding, includes hoarding.



Other types of abuse


Elder Abuse

There are four main types of elder abuse - physical, financial, emotional and neglect.

Honour Based Abuse

Honour Based Abuse is an international term used by many cultures for justification of abuse and violence. It is a crime or incident committed in order to protect or defend the family or community ‘honour’, this may include, forced marriages, honour crimes and genital mutilation.


This can be a type of process that causes someone to adopt radical positions on political or social issues.