Skip to main content

Concerned about an adult?    Social Care Direct 0345 6037630   

Community Information


Where can abuse take place?

Abuse can take place in any setting - an individual’s private home, care home, hospital, day service, public transport, police station, college. This list is endless.

Abuse and neglect can take many forms. It may be an isolated incident, a series of incidents or a long term pattern of behaviour and could affect one person or more, whether in someone’s home, in public or in an institutional setting.

An adult who could be at risk of abuse or neglect is any person aged 18 or above who has needs for care and support and as a result of those needs, is unable to protect themselves against the abuse or neglect or the risk of it.


People at risk may include people with a:


  • Mental health problem or mental illness (including dementia)
  • Physical or learning disability
  • Sensory impairment
  • People who are frail and/or experiencing a temporary illness

The Essex Safeguarding Board defines the ten different categories of abuse as:


  1. Physical abuse
  2. Domestic abuse
  3. Sexual abuse
  4. Psychological abuse
  5. Financial or Material abuse
  6. Modern slavery
  7. Discriminatory abuse
  8. Organisational abuse
  9. Neglect
  10. Self-neglect


To read more about the different type of abuse, please visit our Types of Abuse page by clicking below.